The points are double at the Indianapolis 500 mile race and
extra points are awarded to each of the top nine qualifiers.
Home    Contact    About    Site Map    Privacy
Copyright © 2022 All Rights Reserved
IndyCar Series Points System
as of 2023
INDY 500 Top 9 Qualifiers
At the end of the season, if there is a tie, IndyCar will
determine the ranking based on the following criteria:

a) The most first place finishes,
b) The most second place finishes through last place finishes,
c) The best finishing position in the previous Event, or
d) Random draw.
The Pole Sitter at each race also receives 1 point.
INDY 500
* All IndyCar chassis are made by Dallara.
* The Manufacturer Champion refers to the engine builder.

As of 2023, there are only two engine builders - Honda and Chevrolet.
These two manufacturers have their own separate points race for a championship.


* They earn points in each race equal to the race finishing points earned by their two
 best drivers in the race.   (Those drivers must be full-season drivers.)

* An extra 5 points is awarded for winning a race.

* An extra 1 point is awarded for capturing the pole. (2 points for the INDY 500)

Also in the INDY 500 -
* An extra 1 point is awarded for being fastest on the First Day of Qualifying.
Durability Bonus - If an engine used in the Indy 500 lasts 2,000 miles, the engine
manufacturer earns points equal to the Race finish points earned by that team for
  the Indianapolis 500 Race.
IndyCar reconginzes three championships each year:
* Engine Manufacturer
* Entrant (race team)
* Driver

IndyCar claim to "publicize" the complete ranking after each race of the
above 3 groups.  However, they only make the drivers points available
to the general public.  Access to the entrant and engine manufacturer
points data requires a login granted to the press and the teams.

The IndyCar Rule Book explains how the driver and the engine manufac-
turer points are calculated, which is shown below.  However, they do not
mention how the entrant championship is determined.

The following is my current guess on how the championship winning team
is determined.

I've had a look at that data and I can see that a team receive points from
all of their drivers.  Why they bother to do this, I do not know, as the Team
Championship is always awarded to the team of the championship winning

For instance in 2020, Team Penske's 3 drivers accumulated 1,256 points
during the season while Chip Ganassi Racing's 3 drivers only accumulated
1,134 points.  However CGR won the championship as did their driver
Scott Dixon.

So, it appears to me that the team with the champion driver automatically
wins the Team Championship.

As a side note, if the Entrant Championship were determined by the total
points achieved by their drivers, it would not be fair - for a team with more
cars and drivers would have better odds at winning than a 1-car team,
even if an average were taken into account.